| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Denver Dave User

Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 25 Location: Denver, CO
|
Posted: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:18 am Post subject: Spam post from Split Camera |
|
|
I was reviewing what appeared to be a spam post on a message board that I coordinate and would normally have deleted the post. Much to my surprise, it was from or at least, about split camera. I saved the post, moved it to an appropriate section and added some discussion so that it was relevant to our readers.
My point is that Split Camera is a great product and can easily be discussed in a Business discussion forum. Someone needs to study up on how to work message boards - no harm done, just if you are going to bother to post, might as well do it in a way that does not look like spam and will benefit the community.
http://coloradobusinessonline.com/mb/viewtopic.php?p=2255
Very strange. |
|
| Back to top |
|
SPLITCAM SUPPORT Site Admin

Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 524
|
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 12:59 pm Post subject: SplitCam Answer |
|
|
Hello Denver Dave
We at SplitCamera.com never send spam. I can suggest though who could act under our name. Not long while ago some guys from Russia contacted us asking for SplitCam software source code. We said the source code is not for sharing and if they want they can download our software binaries which are freely distributed. The guys started to threaten us promising they will make SplitCam unpopular by, among other things, spamming people.
Unfortunately there seems to be nothing we can do to stop them. We don't have resources for fighting aggressively acting people.
Currently we are working on a new SplitCam version which is gonna have a lot of new features and capabilities.
All our efforts are aimed at that and we just have no time for distraction. _________________ SplitCam Support
http://www.splitcamera.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
Denver Dave User

Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 25 Location: Denver, CO
|
Posted: Sat Jun 17, 2006 4:23 pm Post subject: |
|
|
Thanks for the reply - as I said, very strange post and no harm done.
Keep up the good work. |
|
| Back to top |
|
nathan User
Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:35 am Post subject: |
|
|
I got a similar post on the 17th in my company forum, which is why I am here now. The email address the poster used when they signed up is splitcamera@yandex.ru and the post was pure spam for splitcamera.
I was about to fire off an e-mail to your company but then decided to check this forum to see if there was anything said about it. Sorry that you have to deal with this, I've been there. |
|
| Back to top |
|
Denver Dave User

Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 25 Location: Denver, CO
|
|
| Back to top |
|
SPLITCAM SUPPORT Site Admin

Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 524
|
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 12:14 pm Post subject: Split Camera |
|
|
To nathan
We are sorry you experienced the spam problems somehow related to SplitCam. Hope it just didn't cause any serious problems.
Thank You.
To Denver Dave
What about zone .ru can you explain? _________________ SplitCam Support
http://www.splitcamera.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
Denver Dave User

Joined: 17 Dec 2005 Posts: 25 Location: Denver, CO
|
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 4:08 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Quote: | | What about zone .ru can you explain? | I'm not sure of the question. .ru email addresses are from Russia (in theory). I've philosophically opposed to blocking by a national profile, but I have noticed that over half the spam on my message boards post with an email with an .ru extension. Also, I'm sure that if we all block that an emails with other extensions will just be used.
By the way I really like the image verification on each post used by this message board - wish phpBB had that. |
|
| Back to top |
|
SPLITCAM SUPPORT Site Admin

Joined: 16 Jul 2005 Posts: 524
|
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:37 pm Post subject: Split Camera Answer |
|
|
The image verification not help you , i check forums where they post spam messages (about splitcam) and many of forums have image verification and this not helps them ! _________________ SplitCam Support
http://www.splitcamera.com |
|
| Back to top |
|
nathan User
Joined: 20 Jun 2006 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Tue Jun 20, 2006 6:57 pm Post subject: |
|
|
| Denver Dave wrote: | | Quote: | | What about zone .ru can you explain? | I'm not sure of the question. .ru email addresses are from Russia (in theory)... |
I've noticed that as well. In the last couple of weeks my support forum has been overrun by spammers, the large majority of them using .ru addresses. I think I'll try turning off the ability to register with a .ru address. Some of the spammers may use other tlds but the majority of them are lazy and I assume will just move on to the next available site. |
|
| Back to top |
|
rola User
Joined: 29 Dec 2007 Posts: 2
|
Posted: Sat Dec 29, 2007 8:04 am Post subject: |
|
|
There are too many spams online,so webmaster always be on the stick them  |
|
| Back to top |
|
|